Concerto for tuba (SOLO PART ONLY)

Composer: Baadsvik, Øystein Arranger: Baadsvik, Øystein
Instrumentation: Solo and Piano Instruments: Piano, Tuba
Genre: Contemporary

As low as $12.00

In stock


This is Øystein Baadsvik's first major work for tuba and orchestra.
Adapted for tuba and piano by Barbara York. 

"Simply gorgeous"
Dan Morgan - Musicweb International

Customize Concerto for tuba (SOLO PART ONLY)
1 x Downloadable - Baadsvik - Concerto for tuba (SOLO PART ONLY)   + $12.00

* Required Fields

Your Customization
Concerto for tuba (SOLO PART ONLY)
Concerto for tuba (SOLO PART ONLY)

In stock



    The concerto contains elements from a variety of musical styles. In the first movement, for example, the orchestral instruments get to imitate the ostinatos often played on an amadinda, an African xylophone. These ostinatos create the impression that the downbeat is absent, so that the typical 1-2-3-4 pattern is replaced by a special sense of flow. Later, and above this, long and descending lines emerge in the strings. The last part of the first movement is carried forward by strong, romantic melodic lines. The second movement starts with a slow, distinct C minor melody from the tuba, accompanied by a lonely glockenspiel. The slow double bass glissandi creates a slightly unsettling feeling. After the cadenza, the theme evolves into C major. The third movement is inspired by up-tempo jazz. After the initial tutti forte, a restless walking bass line together with brushes on the snare drum creates a foundation for a weird eight-bar melody in the tuba. This melody is passed between instrument sections and varied through a fugue. An accumulation that almost resembles heavy metal music leads into a short recapitulation of the main themes from the first and second movements. The concerto ends as it started, with a relentless, strong rhythmic beat.

    Parts for solo tuba only. In BC and Eb TC.

    More Information
    Name Concerto for tuba (SOLO PART ONLY)
    SKU OV1105
    Price 12.00
    ISMN number 9790661220824
    First published 2015
    Delivery PDF download, Shipped (printed)
    Composer Baadsvik, Øystein
    Arranger Baadsvik, Øystein
    Instrument Piano, Tuba
    Instrumentation Solo and Piano
    Genre Contemporary
    Grade 4
    Duration 24
    Publisher Ovation AS
    Write Your Own Review
    Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account
    Ask Your Question
    Jot us a note and we’ll get back to you as quickly as possible.