Snowflakes - A Classical Christmas

In stock
Reward Points You will earn 115 Points for purchasing this product.

A collection of the best classical Christmas songs. Øystein Baadsvik with Trondheim Symphony Orchestra and the female Choir Cantus. "Traditional yet surprising,"Snowflakes: A Classical Christmas" combines the lush, warm sound of the Trondheim Symphony Orchestra with a women's choir and talented tuba player Øystein Baadsvik. The ever-versatile Baadsvik takes on several roles in this recording: often, his tuba's singing the melody, but he also backs up the choir with swirling countermelody in "God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen" and "O Come All Ye Faithful". 

I have always had a weakness for Christmas records, and I have a large collection of them at home. Some records are well suited to putting up Christmas decorations, some to the baking of ginger biscuits, whilst others create the great Christmas atmosphere. Some of the songs are simply indispensable; Christmas wouldn’t be the same without them. Having released eight CDs containing everything from the classics to contemporary music and jazz, I thought it was high time to record some of the best Christmas songs myself – and, with the help of skilled arrangers, I have ventured to make my own versions. As a tuba player one soon learns to live with people’s ‘oompah-oompah’ prejudices, but rarely have these been challenged more clearly than by this very disc. Never before has there been a Christmas record with symphony orchestra, women’s choir and tuba. So why, exactly, did we chose these forces? Few ensembles can give the music as much variety and uplift as a symphony orchestra and, together with the glittering voices of the Cantus choir, I hope to make my contribution to the very special Christmas atmosphere. -Øystein Baadsvik

Track list:
1 O Come All Ye Faithful (Adeste Fideles)
2 When You Wish Upon a Star
3 Ave Maria
4 Ding Dong Merrily on High
5 Eatnemen Vuelie
6 Betlehems stjärna · Star of Bethlehem
7 God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen
8 O helga natt · Cantique de Noël
9 Jul, jul, strålande jul · Christmas, Radiant Christmas
10 Snøfnugg · Snowflakes
11 Fantasi over Mitt Hjerte Alltid Vanker
12 Mary’s Boy Child
13 När det lider mot jul · Christmas Draws Nigh
14 St Stephen’s Holiday
15 Silent Night · Glade Jul
16 Deilig er Jorden · Fairest Lord Jesus

More Information
Name Snowflakes - A Classical Christmas
SKU OV1885
UPC number 671203270813
Price 23.00
EAN number 0671203270813
Publisher Ovation AS
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account
Ask Your Question
Jot us a note and we’ll get back to you as quickly as possible.
Frequently Bought Together